Oklahoma gun laws allow over 290,000 permits for the state’s 3.9 million residents. With over 7% of the population having a concealed carry permit, the state also honors all 50 states permits.
Oklahoma Constitutional Carry Rules
Oklahoma concealed carry laws follow shall-issue rules. Each county’s sheriff is responsible for issuing the permit. You can purchase a firearm without a permit and there’s no waiting period. Background checks will be performed by a Federal Firearms Dealer.
Constitutional and open carry are permitted.
Open carry requires a person be at least 21 years old to carry without a permit and at least 18 years old to carry with a permit. Since November 1, 2019, residents who are 21 or older can open carry or conceal carry without a permit.
How Much is a Concealed Carry Permit in Oklahoma?
The concealed carry permit can be obtained in either a 5-year or 10-year option. Obtaining a 10-year permit is ideal, but you do have the option of renewing. The following fees are in place:
- 5-year – $100
- 10-year – $200
Renewal fees are:
- 5-year – $85
- 10-year – $170
If you do decide to renew your permit, there’s a late fee if you don’t renew before the permit expires.
Oklahoma CCW Permit Information
Obtaining a permit requires you to meet numerous requirements:
- 21+ years of age; 18-year-old applicants in the military, reserve or that have been honorably discharged can apply
- United States citizens
- Reside in Oklahoma
- Complete the required firearm training course
- Know the material in the Oklahoma Self Defense Act
You will need to fill out an application and return it to your local sheriff’s office. You’ll find that there are a lot of reasons that your application may not be approved. A permit application may be declined for the following reasons:
- False information or misleading statements on the application
- Felony convictions
- Outstanding felony warranties outstanding
- Attempted suicide within the last 10 years
- Suffer from a condition that makes you mentally unstable in the last 10 years
- Currently undergoing mental illness treatments
- 2+ convictions for driving under the influence in the past 3 years
- 2+ convictions of public intoxications in the past 3 years
If you’ve been convicted of any of the following offenses, your application is likely to be denied:
- Drug use or possession
- Domestic abuse
- Domestic assault
Your application can take up to 90 days to complete if there are exceptions when applying. The sheriff’s office will take up to 14 days to approve an application and the state’s Bureau of Investigation can take 60 days to approve.
If you’re a non-resident, the permit process is exactly the same if you fall under any of these categories:
- Active-duty military member stationed in Oklahoma
- Spouse of a military member
When an address or name change occurs, you’ll need to send a notarized statement to the sheriff and will have to pay a $15 fee. Lost or stolen permits will also require a notarized statement that requests the permit be replaced. The fee for replacement is also $15.
Concealed carry permit renewal requires a five-step process:
- Renew within 90 days of your license expiring; renewal can be done within 3 years of a permit expiring with a late fee applied.
- Apply for the permit online or go to the sheriff’s office for an application.
- Fill out the form and bring it to the sheriff’s office in your county along with the training certificate, driver’s license/ID card or 2 passport-style photos.
If you apply using a standard application, you will need to:
- Mail the application to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
- Wait for notification via mail
Firearms Training Requirements
Oklahoma carry laws require you to complete an 8-hour training and safety course. The instructor of the course must be certified SDAL. Training requires renewal every three years, and you’ll need to:
- Show competency
Courses will require you to learn about:
- Inspecting a firearm for safety
- Ammunition and firing
- Storage and safety basics
- Position for firing a handgun
- Information on Oklahoma’s criminal provision laws
- Self-defense and what is considered appropriate force
You’ll also have practice shooting sessions and must familiarize yourself with the course. Training, and a valid certificate, are required before a permit can be granted.
Which State Permits Does Oklahoma Honor?
Oklahoma Concealed Carry Reciprocity
The following states/territories have their permits honored in Oklahoma:
- Alabama (21+)
- Alaska (21+)
- Arizona (21+)
- Arkansas (21+)
- California (21+)
- Colorado (21+)
- Connecticut (21+)
- Delaware (21+)
- District of Columbia (21+)
- Florida (21+)
- Georgia (21+)
- Hawaii (21+)
- Idaho (21+)
- Illinois (21+)
- Indiana (21+)
- Iowa (21+)
- Kansas (21+)
- Kentucky (21+)
- Louisiana (21+)
- Maine (21+)
- Maryland (21+)
- Massachusetts (21+)
- Michigan (21+)
- Minnesota (21+)
- Mississippi (21+)
- Missouri (21+)
- Montana (21+)
- Nebraska (21+)
- Nevada (21+)
- New Hampshire (21+)
- New Jersey (21+)
- New Mexico (21+)
- New York (21+)
- New York City (21+)
- North Carolina (21+)
- North Dakota (21+)
- Ohio (21+)
- Oregon (21+)
- Pennsylvania (21+)
- Rhode Island (21+)
- South Carolina (21+)
- South Dakota (21+)
- Tennessee (21+)
- Texas (21+)
- Utah (21+)
- Vermont (21+)
- Virginia (21+)
- Washington (21+)
- West Virginia (21+)
- Wisconsin (21+)
- Wyoming (21+)
- Puerto Rico (21+)
What States Honor Oklahoma’s Concealed Carry Permits?
The following states/territories honor Oklahoma’s permits:
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Puerto Rico
The following states have restricted reciprocity:
- Colorado (21+/resident permits only)
- Florida (21+/ resident permits only)
- Michigan (21+/ resident permits only)
- Pennsylvania (21+)
- South Carolina (21+/ resident permits only)
- Wisconsin (issuance on or after 10/1/2018)
All permitless carry states do honor the state’s permits with age requirements enforced.
Where Concealed Carry is Permitted in Oklahoma
Permit carriers can conceal carry in many locations, including:
- Restaurant areas, unless posted otherwise
- Roadside rest areas
- Your vehicle
- National parks but not in any buildings
State statutes don’t mention carrying in places of worship. Since a place of worship is private property, you must abide by any signage prohibiting carry.
Carrying in bars or in restaurant bar areas is not allowed. You cannot carry while under the influence, even in areas such as restaurants.