Michigan gun laws allow open carry, but there are numerous restrictions in place. Concealed carry is legal as long as a person has a Concealed Pistol License (CPL). CCW licenses and permits are also acceptable, but it depends on the reciprocating state.
Michigan Concealed Carry Laws and Requirements
Michigan is not a constitutional carry state. Is Michigan an open carry state? Yes, but there are restrictions. Residents are allowed to open carry, but non-residents need to have a permit from their respective state.
Concealed carry is more restrictive than open carry.
Obtaining a concealed carry permit requires that the applicant be 21 years of age or older, and they must have completed pistol training that has been approved. You will only be considered a legal resident if you’ve resided in the state for a minimum of six months.
You will need a valid State ID, and you must not:
Be a felon or are pending felony charges
Be prohibited from possessing, using or transporting a firearm under Michigan law
Have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces
Be diagnosed with a mental illness
Be found that gun ownership would be detrimental to the safety of the person or others
Be involved in a charge which was acquitted or dropped due to reason of insanity
Be charged with:
Second-degree retail fraud
Operating under the influence
When originally applying for a permit, you will need to pay a $100 fee when applying. Processing time is 45 days, and the permit is valid for 5 years.
If you have not been a resident for six months but have a valid permit from another state, you can use this permit to waive Michigan’s six-month residency requirement.
Training is required in Michigan, and you must complete a pistol safety training course that’s been certified by the state or a national organization. Training will require the following to be satisfied:
8+ hours of instruction
3 hours of firing range time
Fundamentals of pistol shooting
Avoidance techniques during violent confrontations
Completing your training is the first step in the process, followed by:
Filling in the application which can be found online or at the county clerk’s office
Signing the application under oath at your county clerk’s office, providing:
Providing fingerprints that have been taken by a fingerprinting service
Waiting up to 45 days for the application to be processed
How to Renew Your Michigan Concealed Carry Permit
Renewal will cost $115, and you will only need to renew every five years. You’ll be able to submit the renewal six months before the expiry date and up to one year after the CPL’s expiration date.
You may also be able to submit an online renewal.
There are online renewal applications, but not everyone is able to renew their CPL online. If you’re not allowed to renew online, you can choose to:
Renew in person
Renew via U.S. mail
You will need to send renewal forms and fees to the following address:
MSP CPL UnitP.O. Box 30634Lansing, Michigan 48909
Renewal will additionally require you to sign forms stating that you’ve completed three or more hours of training in the last six months. You will also have had to spend at least one hour of training at the firing range in the six months preceding your reapplication.
You will then receive a renewal acceptance or disqualification.
Which States Honor Michigan’s Concealed Carry Permit?
The following states offer reciprocity with Michigan:
Arizona (resident only)
Arkansas (resident only)
California (resident only; 21+)
Colorado (resident only)
Connecticut (resident only)
Delaware (resident only; 21+)
District of Columbia (resident only)
Florida (resident only)
Idaho (resident only)
Illinois (resident only)
Indiana (resident only; 21+)
Iowa (resident only)
Kansas (resident only)
Kentucky (resident only)
Louisiana (resident only)
Maine (resident only; 21+)
Maryland (resident only; 21+)
Massachusetts (resident only)
Minnesota (resident only)
Mississippi (resident only)
Missouri (resident only; 21+)
Nebraska (resident only)
Nevada (resident only)
New Hampshire (resident only; 21+)
New Jersey (resident only)
New Mexico (resident only; 21+)
New York (resident only)
New York City (resident only)
North Carolina (resident only)
North Dakota (resident only; 21+)
Ohio (resident only)
Oklahoma (resident only)
Oregon (resident only)
Pennsylvania (resident only)
Rhode Island (resident only)
South Carolina (resident only)
South Dakota (resident only; 21+)
Tennessee (resident only)
Texas (resident only)
Utah (resident only; 21+)
Virginia (resident only)
Washington (resident only)
West Virginia (resident only; 21+)
Wisconsin (resident only)
Michigan will accept all permits from all states in the United States so long as the permit holder is at least 21 years of age.
Other Concealed Carry Michigan Rules and Restrictions
Gun laws by state vary, but Michigan allows permit holders to carry in:
Restaurants unless posted otherwise
Restaurants unless the permit holder is under the influence
Roadside rest areas
You are not allowed to conceal carry in your vehicle without a license or permit. You cannot carry in the following:
Weapon free school zones
Day care / child care centers (private and public)
College or university
Establishments where alcohol is the main source of income
Areas prohibited by federal law
You are also not allowed to enter a facility that has a seating capacity of 2,500+ with a firearm.