Arizona is a shall-issue, constitutional carry state that has a permit percentage of 4.69% state-wide. The state’s weapons permits are issued by the Department of Public Safety, and when purchasing a firearm from a private individual, there are no:
- Permit requirements
- Background checks
A federally licensed dealer will only sell handguns to someone who is 21 or older, and private sales can be sold to anyone who is 18 or older.
Arizona Concealed Carry Laws and Requirements
Open carry is allowed in the state under Arizona gun laws. A person must be 18 years or older to open carry. Arizona’s CCW gun laws are different and require a permit holder to be 21 or older.
Non-residents can apply for a permit.
Arizona first enacted a constitution to allow all of its citizens to bear arms in 1910. The state has been very progressive with their gun laws and started to allow concealed carry with a permit in 1994. The state has since passed laws that allow for concealed carry in more areas, such as a place that serves alcohol.
The permit application process will cost $60 for a new applicant, $43 for a renewal and $10 if you need a replacement permit. When applying, the applicant must meet the following requirements:
- 21 years of age or older; 19 years of age for active military members
- US or Arizona resident
- Firearms training class completion
- No pending charges against the person
- No mental illness or competent issues
- No pending indictments
- No felonies on an applicant’s record
- Meet federal requirements
The permit process is the same for residents of Arizona and non-residents. You will need to be a legal citizen. When applying, the processing time is 75 calendar days, and the permit will be valid for a period of 5 years.
When applying you will need to provide two sets of fingerprints and proof of your training along with the $60 fee.
Training requirements are one of the following:
- Complete a training course offered by one of the following:
- Law enforcement
- NRA-certified instructors
- Firearms training school
- Complete hunter training and safety
- NRA firearms training or safety course
- Proof of military service
- Government police agency firearms training
- Possession of a permit from another state that required firearms training
If you meet all of the requirements, you can start the application process. You will receive a denial letter in the mail if your permit was denied.
Permit denial does not mean that you’re eligible for a refund on the application fee. The fee’s application is meant to allow the state to process the application and conduct any research necessary into your permit approval.
The state does not have a prior approval process, so it’s important for all applicants to review the requirements for permits and apply as necessary.
When providing your fingerprints, you will need to contact a professional fingerprint service. You can expedite the process by contacting a private vendor, or you can contact your local law enforcement agency which may be able to provide the service for you.
How to Renew Your Arizona Concealed Carry Permit
Arizona will remind you when your permit is about to expire, and you should receive the reminder 90 days before the expiry date. The packet that you receive in the mail will include the application and a return envelope where the renewal application will be submitted.
You can return the application at any time before your renewal and up to 60 days after your permit expires.
The permit will serve as proof that you’ve successfully completed your firearms training course. Processing time is a standard 75 days so long as all of the information supplied is accurate and does not require further research to be conducted.
Since your fingerprints are already on record, you will not need to supply your fingerprints during the permit renewal process. Arizona also doesn’t require you to take a firearms refresher course to renew your Arizona CCW permit.
Which States Honor Arizona’s Concealed Carry Permit?
The following states will honor CCW permits from Arizona:
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
Firearms are to be carried within each states’ respective guidelines. Be sure to understand the law of each state, even when reciprocity is offered, before carrying in the state.
Arizona Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map
Arizona will honor any state’s permit. As an open carry state, anyone who is at least 18 years old may open carry in the state. The state will also allow any person who is 21 years of age or older to conceal carry.
Other Concealed Carry Arizona Rules and Restrictions
Arizona, like all states, has its own set of location restrictions where a firearm can be concealed and carried. The following areas allow you to conceal carry:
- State parks
- National parks
- Roadside rest areas
- In a vehicle
- Places of worship (unless signs prohibiting it exist)
- Airports outside of the terminal in unsecured areas
- Restaurants (unless otherwise posted)
You cannot carry any firearms or weapons in areas where signs prohibiting weapons are located. Arizona’s areas which are off limits to carry a firearm include:
- School grounds
- Public colleges or universities
- Liquor retailer (with signs prohibiting weapons)
- Polling places
- Correctional facilities
- Federal buildings
- Military installations
- Game preserves
- Secured areas in an airport
- Events open to the public
- Nuclear states
- Correction facilities
- Federal buildings
Any area which forbids carrying firearms under state or federal law will also be included in this list. You are 100% responsible for abiding by the law, so if you don’t know if it’s legal to carry at an event or establishment, you will want to check local laws to verify.
Arizona state law does not clarify whether or not you must notify an officer when you’re carrying a weapon. The law does state that if an officer asks if you have a weapon or firearm, you must answer the officer.
It’s always better to be open and honest when carrying a weapon to prevent any unnecessary force from being used by the police officer.