Georgia gun laws allow for permit issuance on a county level and require that permits be filed with the probate court of the county of residence. You do not need a permit to own a firearm, so you can own a firearm and protect your home without the need to apply for your permit.
If you want to carry your firearm in public, you’ll need to obtain a permit to carry.
Georgia has very good gun laws with a very easy application process, few restrictions and a five-year period in which the permit is valid. Georgia also has reciprocity agreements with 30+ states.
Requirements to Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Georgia
The state’s requirements for a CCW weapons license are similar to many other states. Anyone who applies for a permit and does not meet the requirements will have their permit request denied.
- Be 21 years of age or older, or 18 if in the military
- Be a residence of the country receiving the application
- Be a lawful US citizen or alien
- Not have had their permit revoked in the past three years
Applicants also need a relatively clean criminal record. You cannot have been convicted of a felony or even been pardoned for a felony under certain conditions. You cannot have been convicted of an offense that relates to the sale or manufacturing of a controlled substance.
The applicant must not be a fugitive from justice, had a weapon permit provoked in the last three years and must also meet all federal law requirements.
An applicant must not have been hospitalized for their mental health in the last five years or have been a patient at a drug or rehab center in the last five years either.
Non-resident permits are not granted.
You must be a resident of Georgia to apply.
Steps to Get a Permit
Georgia’s concealed carry permit rules require that a three-step process be followed to obtain a permit. The three-step process is as follows:
- Visit the probate court to obtain the application or complete the permit application online
- Supply a copy of your birth certificate or passport, supply a copy of your license or state ID and pay the respective fee
- Wait for notification of approval via mail
The initial license fee costs $75, but the fee will vary by county. Renewal fees are less expensive ($35) so long as you apply for renewal within the renewal period. From the time of the application being submitted until the approval or denial is sent is 60 days.
You will notice that Georgia does not require firearms training as part of the requirements for obtaining a permit. While not required, it is recommended that you attend a firearms course to learn proper shooting techniques and safety protocols.
How Long Are Permits Valid for in Georgia?
Georgia’s gun laws allow permits to be valid for a period of five years.
How to Renew Your Concealed Carry Permit in GA
If you have a permit in Georgia and are nearing the five-year permit limit, you can renew the permit. It’s up to you to apply for renewal, and you’ll have a four-month span in which you’ll be able to reapply.
You have 90 days prior to the permit’s expiration date to renew the permit and up to 30 days after the permit expires to renew.
If you fail to renew the license before the 30-day expiration period, you will have to restart the permit process completely.
The renewal process is very similar to the initial permit process:
- Complete the renewal form online or go to the probate court for a physical form.
- Supply a copy of your birth certificate or passport, supply a copy of your license or state ID and pay the respective fee.
- Wait for notification of renewal.
The only difference in the renewal process is that it costs just $35 to renew the permit rather than the $75 when applying for a new permit. Each county controls the costs, so these fees may vary.
How Georgia Handles Handgun Purchases
You do not need to have a permit when purchasing a firearm from a private individual. You will not need to register the firearm or have a background check performed either if purchasing from a private individual.
Which States Honor a GA Concealed Carry Permit?
Georgia has reciprocity with several states. The states are outlined in the Georgia concealed carry reciprocity map below:
States that are on this list include:
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
Permitless carry states will also accept any Georgia concealed carry permit. The only exception is that many of the states require a person to be 21 years old. If you do conceal carry in any of the states on this list, you must follow the respective state laws.
Location Restrictions in Georgia
Georgia permits a concealed carry permit holder to conceal firearms in the following locations:
- Restaurant and bar areas
- Inside your own vehicle
- Roadside rest areas
- Public transportation
- State and national parks
- State and national forests
- Public technical schools
- Public universities or colleges
- Public vocational schools
Firearms are not allowed in the following locations:
- School functions
- School safety zones
- School buses
- Property used for athletic events
- Buildings used for athletic events
- Child care spaces on campuses
- College campus areas, including rooms used for:
- Specialized schools
- Career academy
- Dual enrollment programs that include high school students
- Areas of a college where disciplinary proceedings take place
- Airport secured areas
- Places of worship
- Government buildings that are restricted by security personnel
- Jail or prison
- Nuclear power facility
- Areas prohibited under federal law
- Within 150 feet of polling areas
Permit holders should familiarize themselves with the laws pertaining to where and where not concealed carry is permitted. It’s up to the permit holder to know the current law and any changes to the law.