Indiana is a shall-issue state, but a permit is not required to purchase a handgun.
Indiana State Police have issued over 870,000 concealed carry permits in the state. Indiana’s minimum age to conceal carry is 18, and 32 states have reciprocity with Indiana.
INDIANA CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT RULES
Indiana gun laws require that all persons that conceal carry obtain a permit from Indiana State Police. A person must meet the following requirements to obtain a permit:
- 18 years of age
- “Purpose to carry”
- US citizen; non-US citizen allowed to carry under federal law
- “Proper person”
Purpose to carry can mean defending oneself, and a proper person is someone that has not:
- Resisted law enforcement in the last 5 years
- Been convicted of domestic violence
- Been convicted of a crime that could lead to a year or longer prison sentence
- Been found to have a record of drug or alcohol abuse
- Involuntarily been committed to a mental institution
- Been found mentally incompetent
- Been convicted of a felony
- Had their license to carry suspended
All applicants must meet federal law requirements to carry a firearm. Indiana is enacting HB-1284, which goes into effect on July 1, 2019 and will allow for applicants to pay $10 for a 4-year license, or $40 – $50 for a lifetime license.
Processing time will take 60 days.
Applications can be submitted online.
The application process starts with your form submission and requires two additional steps which must be completed within 90 days of applying:
- Schedule to have your fingerprints submitted to your local law enforcement agency
- Complete local law enforcement agency processing
There’s an online portal where you can sign in and follow your application status. You can use this portal when obtaining a new license or renewing a license.
You have a 90-day window wherein you must visit your local law enforcement agency. You’ll need to bring your:
- Handgun License Application Number
You will need to wait for an approval or denial via U.S. mail. You have a right to appeal if you’ve been rejected.
Indiana is one of the few states where you can apply for a concealed carry license without needing to complete firearms training. It’s still recommended that you complete firearms training on your own to better be able to protect yourself.
Non-resident Concealed Carry Permits in Indiana
Non-residents in the state can obtain what’s called a personal-protection firearm license. The license is valid for 4 years, and you will need to go to the local sheriff’s office to obtain your license.
You must meet all of the licensing requirements above as well as:
- Provide proof of employment
- Supply a notarized out-of-state affidavit form
- You must also have employment or a regular place of business in the state to quality.
HOW LONG ARE CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS VALID FOR IN INDIANA?
Indiana offers the option to pay for a lifetime license, but the license rules, which go into effect in July 2019, allow for licenses to be valid for only 5 years. You will not have to pay any additional fees upon renewal if you’ve paid for the lifetime license.
HOW TO RENEW YOUR CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT IN Indiana
Indiana does require permit renewals, and you can start the renewal process online using the official website. You will need to:
- Complete a Handgun License Application
- Schedule an appointment to submit your fingerprints
- Complete agency processing
Fees will be $10, or you can pay the lifetime fee.
HOW TO CHANGE YOUR NAME OR ADDRESS IF YOU HAVE A PERMIT
Indiana gun laws make changing your name or address a breeze. There’s an online change name / address portal where you can update all of your information.
UNDERSTANDING HOW INDIANA HANDLES HANDGUN PURCHASES
Indiana gun laws do not require you to have a license to own a gun. You also do not have to register your shotgun, rifle or handgun in the state. Firearms can be legally purchased by most residents, but if a resident is found to be a “serious violent felon,” he or she may not purchase a handgun.
Serious felons include a person that has been convicted of:
The age to purchase a handgun is 18, but a person may be barred from purchasing a handgun until they’re the age of 23 if they have been adjudicated as a minor for an offense that would be considered a felony if the person were an adult.
INDIANA CCW RECIPROCITY MA P
WHICH STATES DO NOT HONOR INDIANA’S CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS?
- District of Columbia
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
THE FOLLOWING STATES ARE ON INDIANA’S CONCEALED CARRY RECIPROCITY MAP:
- New Hampshire
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
CONCEALED CARRY LOCATION RESTRICTIONS IN INDIANA
Indiana gun laws do not allow guns to be carried:
- During State Fairs
- In or on school property
- In a school bus
- On property used for a school function
- On an aircraft
- At an airport
- At the casino
- Areas prohibited by Federal Law
- Shipping ports
You are allowed to carry at:
- State parks and forests
- National forests
- Rest areas
- All areas not off-limits
You can also legally carry in your vehicle.
Is Indiana an open carry state? Yes, with a license to carry. Otherwise, you’re not allowed to carry without a license.
Keep in mind that the gun laws in Indiana do not mention “No Weapon” signage. What this means is that there are no legal penalties for carrying within an area that no weapon signage is present unless it’s listed in the law.
But it’s not recommended to conceal carry in an establishment or area where no weapon signs are present. The owner of the property can ask you to leave, and there are laws that can be broken when you refuse to leave.