Oregon gun laws do not require a permit to purchase a firearm, and the state is a shall-issue state.
Oregon is one of the few states in the nation that does not honor concealed carry licenses from other states.
What are the Gun Laws in Oregon for Concealed Carry?
Obtaining a CCW permit in Oregon requires that you file an application on the county level. A local sheriff’s office will be able to provide you with all of the necessary paperwork as well as help you through the processing of the application.
The sheriff may choose, at his or her own discretion, to not issue a permit if the applicant is likely to be a danger to themselves or someone else.
Oregon Concealed Carry Laws and Requirements
Is Oregon an open carry state? Yes, but there are restrictions. You may open carry without a license, but cities and counties are legally allowed to restrict open carry. Restrictions may include vehicles, and the open carry minimum is 18 years of age.
Concealed carry is only legal when a person has received their CHL license.
A CHL license requires that the permit holder pass an approved firearms training course. The course may not be required if the applicant falls into the following categories:
- Military experience
- Participated in organized shooting competitions
Applying for a Concealed Carry Permit
Oregon has a minimum age requirement of 21 to obtain a concealed carry permit. The permit only allows for the concealment of a handgun and no other weapons. The application process will require you to meet the following requirements:
- Handgun competency
- Proof of residency
- US Citizen
- Non convicted felon
- Not convicted of insanity
- Not to have been found mentally ill
- No outstanding warrants
- No convictions relating to controlled substances
- Not be a registered sex offender
- Not receive a dishonorable discharge from the military
- Not be a subject in a protective order issue or stalking-related matter
- Meet federal requirements
If you meet all of the above requirements, you will be able to apply for your permit. The initial license fee is $65, and your permit will be valid for a period of four years.
Each county has its own respective application, so you will be required to review your county’s application.
Processing time takes 45 days.
Non-resident permits may also be issued, but they’re issued on a “may issue” basis. The sheriff has the authority to issue permits to residents of contiguous states for a person that can demonstrate a legitimate need for a permit or compelling business interest.
If the sheriff does decide that a non-resident can apply for their concealed carry, the process is the same as for residents of the state.
All applicants will need to be able to demonstrate handgun competency. This means:
- Completing a firearms training course
- Submitting the training course certificate to the sheriff’s office
- Providing two forms of ID
You will be fingerprinted at the sheriff’s office at this time. If you were a former member of the military or are a member of the police force, you may be able to have your training requirement waived.
Training requirements must be met and provided at the time of application.
Application approval or denial will be received in the mail.
Firearms Training Requirements
You can meet handgun competency in multiple ways. The following methods can be used to reach the competency requirements. You may complete the following to satisfy your competency requirements:
- Approved hunter’s safety course that has been approved by the Department of Fish and Wildlife
- Firearms safety or training course that has a safety component (instructors are a member of law enforcement or NRA certified) and is provided by:
- Law enforcement
- Community college
- Firearms training school
You may also provide a DD214 copy or present evidence that you have military experience or have experience in organized shooting competitions. If you have not passed the firearms training requirements, you will be denied a permit.
How to Renew Your Oregon Concealed Carry Permit
Renewing your concealed carry permit is similar to the original application. The fee is $50 for renewal, and the permit will remain valid during the processing period if the individual applies before the original license expires.
If the person has proof of a renewal application and the application has not been denied, the permit will remain valid.
You can go to your local county sheriff’s office to obtain the application form, and you will want to provide your concealed handgun license, identification and your $50 fee at this time. You may have your permit renewed immediately.
Otherwise, the application will go through a processing period before you receive notification via mail.
Which States Honor Oregon’s Concealed Carry Permit?
The following states will honor a concealed carry permit from Oregon:
- North Carolina
Note: Oregon does not honor any permits or licenses from other states.
Other Concealed Carry Oregon Rules and Restrictions
Oregon gun laws are complex, and like every state, there are places where carry is prohibited and not prohibited.
Where Concealed Carry is Permitted
- Restaurants that serve alcohol
- Roadside rest areas
- National parks or forests
- State parks or forests
- Public buildings (with several restrictions)
- Places of worship unless signage prohibits firearms
Where Concealed Carry is Not Permitted
- Indian reservations
- Court facilities
- Inside classrooms or dormitories
- Federal buildings
- Posted property
- Private businesses with appropriate signage
- Places prohibited by federal or state laws
Permit holders are not required to notify an officer that they have a handgun unless the officer asks if you have any weapons in your possession. Magazine limits are not in place in the state, and there are no ammunition restrictions.
The state has the ultimate authority to regulate firearms, but cities do have a right to regulate discharge in city boundaries and restrict or prohibit possession of loaded firearms. Red flag laws do exist, and these laws allow a family member, household member or law enforcement officer to file a petition stating that the individual should not own or be in control of a deadly weapon.