Utah gun laws are enforced by the Department of Public Safety, which will issue a permit or deny it. There are no background checks or firearm registrations required in the state when buying from a private individual.
Open carry is legal if a person is at least 18 years old.
If you do not have a permit, you can only open carry if the handgun is unloaded.
Concealed carry requires a license/permit and that all applicants meet the guidelines listed below.
Utah CCW Permit Requirements
Utah’s pistol permit is allowed in both a standard permit and a provisional permit. The permit type that you should apply for depends on whether you’re a resident or a non-resident applying for your CCW permit.
Standard permits have a few requirements that must be met before a permit is issued. Utah’s CCW permit requirements are:
21 age minimum
Firearms training completion
Have not been convicted of a:
Crime of violence
Offense while under the influence of alcohol
Offense involving controlled substances or narcotics
Meet Federal requirements
Qualify to purchase a firearm
You must provide proof that you’re a resident in good character and that you’re mentally competent. A person that is not mentally competent will not be considered for a Utah pistol permit or concealed carry permit.
All permits require a fee of $53.25 to be paid for new permits.
A provisional permit is allowed for persons between the ages of 18 and 21. Provisional permits are different than standard permits in that they’re issued to non-residents, too. The most important difference between this permit and a standard permit is that most states will not honor a Utah provisional permit.
If you have a provisional permit, make sure that you do not conceal carry without checking the state’s laws to ensure that they will honor a provisional permit.
When you apply for a Utah concealed carry permit, you’ll also have the following steps taken under all permit types:
Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) or local law enforcement will take your fingerprints
You’ll need to provide a passport-quality photo
Provide photocopy of your driver’s license
All applicants are notified via mail to know if your permit request was approved or denied.
Utah Non-Resident CCW Permit Information
If you’re a non-resident who wants to obtain a Utah permit, you can opt for a provisional or standard permit. A standard permit’s process is the same for residents and non-residents. You will have to pay more for renewal fees.
The main issue with a non-resident CCW permit in Utah is that reciprocity may not be offered to you.
A lot of states honor Utah’s CCW permit, but they will only honor the permit if you’re a resident. Non-residents are not allowed to use their Utah permit in another state. You will need to check state-by-state to better understand state laws when crossing state lines.
Utah’s CCW permit is valid for a period of five years. The permit will take 60 days to process. When a permit expires, you will receive a notification that the permit is expiring and will have to pay a fee to renew the permit.
Residents pay $20 for renewal and non-residents pay $25.
If you change your name or move, you will have to notify the authorities to have your permit’s information updated. There’s a $10 fee to update your permit name or address.
Firearms Training Requirements
All Utah CCW permit applicants will need to meet firearm training requirements. The requirements require a person to go through training in-person. Online training is not permitted.
A person that undergoes training will be trained in general firearm use and safety. The requirements state that the course must be approved by the BCI. You will learn the following information in the course:
Safe loading and unloading
Types of firearms that you’re legally allowed to conceal
Laws pertaining to firearm usage by a private individual
Self-defense laws and what’s legal and not
Firearm concealment in transportation
All applicants must be able to show that they have satisfied all of the firearm training requirements to be granted a firearm. Certification will be granted after the course is complete.
But there are a few exemptions for firearm training, including:
Experience through an organized shooting competition
Experience through law enforcement
Experience through military service
You’ll want to do a search in your local area to find a firearms training course that is approved by the BCI and will allow you to satisfy your permit requirements. Classes should be taken prior to filing your application.
Which State Permits Does Utah Honor?
Utah recognizes permits from the following states:
District of Columbia
New Hampshire (21+)
New Mexico (21+)
New York City
North Dakota (21+)
South Dakota (21+)
Which States Honor Utah Permits?
Utah gun laws are not valid in other states. You must adhere to each state’s respective laws when conceal carrying.
States that honor Utah CCW permits are:
Utah concealed carry reciprocity with other states include the following states (with restrictions):
Colorado (resident only)
Florida (21+ and resident only)
Michigan (21+ and resident only)
North Carolina (21+)
Pennsylvania (resident only)
Washington (regular permits only)
Utah CCW permits are valid in all permitless states so long as you adhere to the state’s restrictions.
Where Concealed Carry is Permitted in Utah
Concealed carry is permitted in the follow locations in Utah:
Roadside rest areas
Restaurants that serve alcohol (unless posted otherwise)
You can also store your vehicle in a vehicle in an employee parking lot without any posted restrictions.
Where Concealed Carry is Not Permitted in Utah
Utah, like many other states, does outline a few areas where concealed carry is not permitted, including:
Churches or religious centers
Secure areas in airports
If you’re unsure whether firearms are allowed in a certain establishment, call ahead of time to make sure that you can legally carry.
Utah CCW Permit FAQs
Permit or license holders must adhere to state laws when carrying. You’re responsible for following laws, and if you do not follow one of these laws, you cannot claim ignorance. The most common questions that all CCW holders must know how to answer are:
Can I Use a Gun to Scare Someone When I Feel Threatened?
Maybe. You must only use a gun in self-defense. You cannot take any action with your gun otherwise you may be labeled as an aggressor. Unless self-defense is proven, you cannot show or threaten another person with a firearm.
Do I Have to Tell an Officer That I Am Conceal Carrying During a Traffic Stop?
No, but it is recommended. An officer should be alerted to you carrying so that they do not assume that you’re carrying illegally. Identify yourself as a permit holder so that law enforcement knows that you’re a law-abiding citizen.
Do I Have to Adhere to Private Property Signage Not Permitting Firearms?
It’s always a good idea to follow the signage posted by a private establishment. There are constitutional questions here, but it’s always a good idea to follow signage. You do not want to deal with a constitutional court case to find out if you’re allowed to carry in a private restaurant.