Tennessee gun laws do not require firearm registration, background checks or permits. The state is a shall-issue state, and all permits go through the state via the Department of Safety & Homeland Security.
You can open carry with a permit.
If you want to obtain your concealed carry permit, you’ll need to be at least 21 years of age. You’ll also need to meet all of the requirements below.
Tennessee Concealed Carry Laws and Requirements
- Reside in Tennessee (non-resident exceptions below)
- Complete a firearm training course in the last 12-month period
- Provide proof of permanent residency or US citizenship
- Shall not be:
- Mentally disabled
- Drug abuser
- Convicted of driving under the influence two or more times in ten years; no occurrences within one year of application or renewal
You must have not been found to be developmentally disabled within the last seven years. If you pass all of the requirements, you will have to pay $100 for your license application fee. You will also need to meet all Federal Law requirements.
Permits are valid for a period of eight years with renewal options available (more on that below).
When you submit your application, provide all required documentation and pay your fee, the processing period will begin. Processing can take as long as 90 days from the time that the application is received.
All permit fees are non-refundable, whether or not the permit is issued.
If you change your address or need to have your permit sent to you again, you will have to contact the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security. A $5 fee is applied to all name or address changes as well as duplicate license requests.
The law will change on January 1, 2020. The state will issue an enhanced handgun carry permit after the first of the year to allow for concealed and open carry in more locations. You will still have to meet the training requirement, a background check will be required, and the fee structure will change.
You’ll pay $100 for an enhanced permit and $50 for renewal.
Standard permits will be $65.
Tennessee Non-Resident CCW Permit Information
Non-resident permits are available if you reside in another state, but work in Tennessee. You will have to be an employee of a Tennessee employer for at least six months before applying for the permit.
You have just six months to apply for a permit after working for the employer for six months.
TN Firearms Training Requirements
All handgun training courses must be certified by the state. You should contact the Department of Safety for a complete list of approved courses. You will be required to take eight hours of courses within the last 12-month period for the training to remain valid.
You cannot use online training as a means of satisfying the handgun training requirements.
Exemptions are made for military personnel who have training that can be verified.
How to Renew Your Tennessee Concealed Carry Permit
Renewing your concealed carry permit is a quick, three-step process.
You’ll need to:
- Complete an online application, or go to the Driver Services Center.
- Provide proof of citizenship, and pay a fee.
- Wait for application approval in the mail.
You can renew the permit as early as six months before the permit’s expiry date. Tennessee will allow you to renew your permit if you renew within 8 years of the permit’s expiry date.
Which State Permits Does Tennessee Honor?
- Alabama (21+ years old)
- Delaware (21+ years old)
- District of Columbia
- Florida (handguns)
- Indiana (21+ years old)
- Maine (21+ years old)
- Missouri (21+ years old)
- Montana (21+ years old)
- New Hampshire (21+ years old)
- New Jersey
- New Mexico (21+ years old)
- New York
- New York City
- North Carolina
- North Dakota (21+ years old)
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota (21+ years old)
- Utah (21+ years old)
- West Virginia (21+ years old)
Tennessee offers reciprocity with all states as long as the person carrying a firearm is 21 years of age or older.
Which States Honor Tennessee CCW Permits?
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
Where Concealed Carry is Permitted in TN
You may legally carry a firearm in:
- All state areas unless “off-limit” signage exists
- State parks
- National forests
- Rest areas
If a park is holding a school event, firearms may not be permitted at the event.
Where Concealed Carry is Not Permitted In TN
Tennessee concealed carry laws do not permit concealed carry in the following places:
- School buildings (private and public)
- School buses
- Athletic fields
- Civic centers
- State or county government buildings designated for recreational use
- Parks (if school events are taking place)
- Establishments with proper prohibition posting
You cannot legally carry firearms when it’s prohibited under Federal Law.