North Carolina’s concealed handgun permits are issued by the local sheriff’s office at the county level. The local sheriff will ensure that you meet all of the state’s regulations and rules before issuing you a permit.
Concealed carry is allowed with a permit or license, and you’ll need to meet a few requirements before being granted the right to conceal carry.
How to Get a Concealed Carry Permit in North Carolina
NC concealed carry laws require that any person that conceal carries has a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP). To be eligible for a permit, you will need to meet a few requirements:
- Be 21 years of age or older
- Successfully complete a firearms training course
- State resident for at least 30 days
- No mental or physical deformity that can impact firearm use
Concealed carry classes in NC are regulated, and the course that is attended must have been approved by the state. There are exceptions to the rules if a person is a member of the military.
A person may not receive their permit, which the sheriff will deny, if the person:
- Is a fugitive
- Ineligible under federal or state laws
- Is under indictment
- Found guilty of a felony
- Free on bond for a crime that would disqualify a concealed handgun permit
- Impaired driving offense within the past 3 years
The first step in obtaining your concealed carry permit in North Carolina is to first make sure that you meet all of the eligibility requirements listed. If eligible, you’ll then need to follow these steps:
- Attend a qualified course. The state must qualify the course, and the course will have a live fire portions where students must demonstrate safe use of the firearm. The student will have to fire a specific number of rounds, and the student must also demonstrate they know how to safely use the firearm. Subjects that will be taught will include concealed carry law, deadly force and gun safety. Passing the class is required before proceeding to the next step.
- Apply for your permit. You’ll need to go to your local sheriff’s office and apply for your concealed handgun permit. Applications may be available online, but the process differs from town-to-town. Call your local sheriff’s office to determine which steps you need to take to apply for your permit. A fee will be required, paperwork may need to be filled out, and you will also have your fingerprints taken.
Now, you’re engaged in a waiting game. You’ll not be able to carry legally until your permit is approved. The sheriff has up to 45 days to deny or issue a permit in accordance to NCGS 14-415.15.
A background check will be required for all private gun sales, and a license to purchase a handgun can take up to 14 days. You do not need to register your firearm in North Carolina.
How Long Is a Concealed Carry Class Certificate Good for in NC?
If you’re issued a permit, it will remain valid for 5 years from the time it is issued. If you choose to move out of the state, the permit may be invalid. North Carolina does not issue permits to out of state applicants.
As a permit holder, you’re also required to notify the issuing sheriff’s office if you’ve changed your address within a 30-day period.
You have the responsibility of carrying your permit with you at all times if you do conceal carry. The permit and a valid form of identification will need to be given to law enforcement to prove that you’re legally carrying.
How to Renew Your Concealed Carry Permit in NC
You have five years before renewal is required, and you’ll be required to file a renewal form within 30 days of your permit’s expiration. You’ll have to pay a $75 renewal fee, and you’ll also need to provide a full set of fingerprints.
An affidavit must also be signed stating that you still remain qualified as a permit holder.
What States Honor a NC Concealed Carry Permit?
You always want to check for reciprocity to ensure that this information is not outdated.
At the time of writing this article (2.20.2019), the NC concealed carry reciprocity map includes:
- New Mexico
- North Dakota
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
There are states which are permitless, and you’ll be allowed to carry in these states with or without your permit. The states included in this list are:
- New Hampshire
- West Virginia
Location Restrictions in North Carolina
North Carolina does have restrictions on where you can legally carry. It’s your responsibility to ensure that you’re carrying where you’re legally entitled to carry.
You may carry in:
- Your vehicle (with a permit)
- Rest areas on the road side
- National parks and forests
- Places of worships
Owners of private property, such as a restaurant or place of worship, do have the right to prohibit firearms. If a sign is posted prohibiting firearms, you cannot legally carry in the area.
You may not conceal carry in a variety of places, such as:
- Public school buildings
- Private school buildings
- School buses
- School athletic fields
- School recreation areas
- Activities sponsored by a school
- State or federal buildings
- Law enforcement facilities
- Spaces of protest
- Private property prohibiting handguns
- Capital buildings
- County or municipal athletic fields, playgrounds or facilities
- State fairs
- Places prohibited by state law